Review: Gentle and Lowly by Dane Ortlund

I didn’t want to like this book.

Normally, someone overtly raving about a book puts me off. Yet I know that’s petty, so I embarked on this book over the summer.

I didn’t like this book.

It made some very strange claims – that I still think need to be reconciled better to our doctrine of Divine Simplicity, and so I gave up.

I needed this book.

I restarted it, and had to learn to live with the bits I think are theologically a tad too loose, because ultimately the problem with this book is…me. The reader, whom Ortlund nails down rightly as a legalist who shies from grace.

I love this book, because its helped me see just how loved I am.

So I like it, and reccomend, but I’d have liked it to be a little stronger doctrinally, and then I’d rave about it all the more.

But its a good read – it will warm you greatly, as you encounter the gentle and lowly Jesus who’s love for you never decreases.

Published by aledseago

Ordained presbyter in the church of England, Priest-in-Charge of St Margaret's and St Mark's in Dunham Massey, Chester Diocese

Leave a comment